Monday , October 15 2018
Home / News / Breaking News / Cristiano Ronaldo Wins Ballon D’Or to Equal Messi

Cristiano Ronaldo Wins Ballon D’Or to Equal Messi

Cristiano Ronaldo has equalled Lionel Messi’s record of five Ballon d’Or awards after claiming the 2017 prize in Paris.

Ronaldo led Real Madrid to a record 12th Champions League trophy in June, scoring hat-tricks against Bayern Munich and Atletico Madrid in the quarter and semi-finals and a double in the 4-1 win over Juventus in the final.

Messi, who recently signed a new contract to stay at Barcelona until 2021, finished runner up for the second consecutive year despite currently outscoring Ronaldo by three goals in the calendar year (52-49).

The world’s most expensive player, Neymar, had been tipped to take the award by compatriot Philippe Coutinho, but came third for the second time in three years.

“I feel happy, it’s a great moment in my career,” said Ronaldo, who was unveiled on the Eiffel Tower. “This is something I look forward to every year. Last year we had an amazing season in the Champions League and La Liga.

“I have to thank my team-mates, Real Madrid and the rest of the people who helped me to be in great shape throughout the season.”

N’Golo Kante (eighth) finished highest of the seven Premier League players named in the final 30-player shortlist, with Harry Kane coming 10th.

Manchester City midfielder Kevin De Bruyne was placed 14th in the final list, while Chelsea’s Eden Hazard (19th) and Manchester United’s David De Gea (20th) were just a place apart.

Liverpool pair Sadio Mane (23rd) and Philippe Coutinho (joint-29th) were also in the top 30.

First given to Sir Stanley Matthews in 1956, the coveted Ballon d’Or prize is presented by weekly football magazine France Football, with Ronaldo taking the prize for the first time as a Manchester United player in 2008.

Since then only Ronaldo or Messi has won the annual award.

Ballon d’Or winners since 2007

2007 Kaka
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo
2009 Lionel Messi
2010 Lionel Messi
2011 Lionel Messi
2012 Lionel Messi
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo
2015 Lionel Messi
2016 Cristiano Ronaldo
2017 Cristiano Ronaldo

Ballon d’Or or FIFA Best?
The Best award was created after FIFA’s partnership with France Football ended in 2015. The Ballon d’Or is now picked solely by a panel of journalists, while the Best result is a combination of votes from national coaches and players, an online ballot and 200 media representatives.

Ronaldo is the all-time leading scorer in the Champions League with 115 goals.

Ballon d’Or 2017 final rankings

1 Cristiano Ronaldo
2 Lionel Messi
3 Neymar
4 Gianluigi Buffon
5 Luka Modric
6 Sergio Ramos
7 Kylian Mbappe
8 N’Golo Kante
9 Robert Lewandowski
10 Harry Kane
11 Edinson Cavani
12 Isco
13 Luis Suarez
14 Kevin De Bruyne
15 Paulo Dybala
16 Marcelo
17 Toni Kroos
18 Antoine Griezmann
19 Eden Hazard
20 David De Gea
21 Leonardo Bonucci and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang
23 Sadio Mane
24 Radamel Falcao
25 Karim Benzema
26 Jan Oblak
27 Mats Hummels
28 Edin Dzeko
29 Philippe Coutinho and Dries Mertens

About Toluwalope Daniel

Toluwalope Daniel an Associate in lekkies Media lnc. A Blogger, Music Lover, a disc jockey and a fashion lover.

Check Also

Olamide Threatens To Expose Record Labels Practising 21st Century Slavery

Nigerian Indigenous rapper Olamide is on a new cause this week, to deal with 21st-century …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *