Monday , February 18 2019
Home / Entertainment / Sports / The Best FIFA Football Awards 2018 | Award Winners | #TheBest

The Best FIFA Football Awards 2018 | Award Winners | #TheBest

2018’s The Best Fifa Football Awards, which gets underway at London’s Royal Festival Hall at about 20:30 CEST. The gala event, which is now in its third year, is to be hosted by actor Idris Elba and journalist Anne Laure Bonnet, with the following shiny gongs to be handed out: Best Men’s Player, Best Goalkeeper, Best Men’s Coach, Best Women’s Player, Best Women’s Coach, the Fifa Puskas Award, the Fifa Fan Award and the Fifa Fair Play Award. Including The 2018 Fifa FIFPro World11, whose awards recognise those footballing achievements that took place between 3 July 2017 and 15 July 2018, i.e. during the 2017/18 season (unlike the Ballon d’Or, which, in theory at least, is all about the calendar year just gone). Good evening!

Idriss Elba is hosting the event.

Meanwhile, Big Shaq, aka Michael Dapaah, is lighting up the stage!

Puskás Award
The contenders are: Gareth Bale (Real Madrid) – Real Madrid-Liverpool. Final Champions League. Denis Cheryshev (Russia) – Russia-Croatia. World Cup (quarter-finals). Lazaros Christodoulopoulos (AEK Athens) – AEK-Olympiacos. Greek league. Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid) – Juventus-Real Madrid. Champions League (quarter-finals) Giorgian de Arrascaeta – Cruzeiro-América. Brazilian league. Riley McGree (Melbourne City) – Newcastle Jets-Melbourne City. Lionel Messi (Argentina) – Argentina-Nigeria. World Cup (Group stage). Benjamin Pavard (France) – France-Argentina. World Cup (quarter-finals) Ricardo Quaresma (Portugal) – Iran-Portugal. World Cup (Group stage) Mohamed Salah (Liverpool) – Liverpool-Everton. Premier League.

Mohamed Salah – Winner
The Liverpool forward scooped the award, which goes to the player who is deemed to have scored the most aesthetically pleasing goal in world football over the previous year.

Salah’s effort in the Merseyside derby, in which he weaved through multiple Everton defenders before curling the ball into the top corner, was judged to come out on top.

Gareth Bale’s overhead kick against Liverpool in the Champions League final was also a contender for the award, along with Cristiano Ronaldo’s similarly acrobatic effort against his now current club Juventus.

FIFA Men’s Coach 2018

Didier Deschamps – Winner
French coach Didier Deschamps wins the FIFA The Best Men’s Coach of the Year for leading France to the World title. Arsene Wenger presents Deschamps with the trophy.

In a World Cup year, it was always going to be the coach of the winning team who would land the trophy, more often than not. No surprises.

Best Women’s Coach
The nominees are: Reynald Pedros (Lyon), Asako Takakura (Japan) and Sarina Wiegman (Holland).

Reynald Pedros – Winner
Reynald Pedros is the FIFA Best Women’s coach of the Year. He coached Lyon Women to a French league and Champions League double.

FIFA Goalkeeper 2018
Thibaut Courtois, Hugo Lloris and Kasper Schmeichel are the three finalists.

Thibaut Courtois – Winner
Thibaut Courtois wins the FIFA Best Goalkeeper award for his heroics for Belgium in the World Cup. He won the Golden Glove too during the World Cup.

Best Fan Award
The contenders are:
Sebastián Carrera: He travelled 3,000 kilometres to watch CD Puerto Montt to play the Chilean Primera B game at Conquimbo Unido. The image of him sitting alone went viral as the most loyal fan in the world.
The Japan and Senegal fans at the World Cup: The supporters of these two countries showed others how it’s done when they picked up rubbish after themselves when the final whistle blew in the games they attended.
The Peru fans: 40,000 fans travelled to Russia to watch their side play in their first World Cup since 1982.

Peru Fans – Winner

FIFA Fair Play Award
Lennart Thy gets the gong having missed a game for VVV-Venlo against PSV Eindhoven to donate stem cells to try and help a Leukaemia patient.
Presented by Pierluigi Collina and Paolo Maldini.

Lennart Thy – Winner

The line-up is: De Gea, Alves, Varane, Ramos, Marcelo, Modric, Kante, Hazard, Messi, Mbappe, Ronaldo. Voted for by 25,000 professional footballers across the globe.

Best Fifa Womens’s Player
Ada Hegerberg (Norway/Lyon), Dzsenifer Marozsan (Germany/Lyon), Marta (Brazil/ Orlando Pride) are the three finalists.

Marta – Winner
Marta, who plays for Orlando Pride in the National Women’s Soccer League, wins the award.
The Brazilian holds the record for most goals scored at FIFA Women’s World Cup tournaments.

FIFA Best Men Player Award
FIFA President, Gianni Infantino, present the award.

Luka Modric – Winner

Luka Modric is crowned Men’s Best Player Award! What a year it has been for the Real Madrid and Croatia star. Modric enjoyed arguably the best year of his career as he won a third consecutive Champions League trophy – before reaching the World Cup final with Croatia. He then went on to win the Golden Ball award for the best player in the World Cup after Croatia’s final defeat by France. Modric also won the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year award – beating Ronaldo and Salah in the process.

The Dawn Of A New Era?
It is the first time since 2007 that neither Ronaldo nor Messi have been crowned FIFA’s footballer of the year. The last one to do so was Kaka.

About Toluwalope Daniel

Toluwalope Daniel an Associate in lekkies Media lnc. A Blogger, Music Lover, a disc jockey and a fashion lover.

Check Also

Qatar Stun Japan To Win First Continental Crown | AFC Asian Cup 2019

Goals by Almoez ALI, A Aziz and Akram Arif helped Qatar clinch their maiden Asian …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *