Tuesday , February 19 2019
Home / Entertainment / Finalists for The Best FIFA Football Awards™ 2018 announced

Finalists for The Best FIFA Football Awards™ 2018 announced

The finalists for The Best FIFA Football Awards™ 2018, world football’s premium awards event, have been announced, with Cristiano Ronaldo, Marta, Asako Takakura and Hugo Lloris named amongst the nominees.

The finalists, revealed today at a special media event held in London with FIFA Legends Sol Campbell, Kelly Smith, Nwankwo Kanu and Peter Schmeichel, have been recognised for their achievements in elite football between July 2017 and July 2018 – a period that saw the 2018 FIFA World Cup™ take place in Russia.

In a year that was filled with drama, action and excitement across both the men’s and women’s game, The Best FIFA Football Awards 2018 look set to build on the success of 2017’s event and return to London bigger and better than ever.

The winners will be crowned at the Royal Festival Hall (Southbank) on 24 September 2018, where the great and good of world football will descend upon the city to celebrate the very “best” the sport has to offer.

The shortlisted candidates for The Best FIFA Football Awards 2018 are:

The Best FIFA Men’s Player

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Juventus FC, formerly Real Madrid CF)
Luka Modrić (Croatia/Real Madrid CF)
Mohamed Salah (Egypt/Liverpool FC)

The Best FIFA Women’s Player

Ada Hegerberg (Norway/Olympique Lyonnais)
Dzsenifer Marozsán (Germany/Olympique Lyonnais)
Marta (Brazil/Orlando Pride)

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach

Zlatko Dalić (Croatia/Croatia national team)
Didier Deschamps (France/France national team)
Zinédine Zidane (France/formerly Real Madrid CF)

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach

Reynald Pedros (France/Olympique Lyonnais)
Asako Takakura (Japan/Japan national team)
Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands/Netherlands national team)

The Best FIFA Goalkeeper

Thibaut Courtois (Belgium/Real Madrid CF, formerly Chelsea FC)
Hugo Lloris (France/Tottenham Hotspur FC)
Kasper Schmeichel (Denmark/Leicester City FC)

FIFA Puskás Award

Gareth Bale (Real Madrid CF) – v. Liverpool FC
Denis Cheryshev (Russia) – v. Croatia
Lazaros Christodoulopoulos (AEK FC) – v. Olympiacos FC
Giorgian De Arrascaeta (Cruzeiro) – v. América MG
Riley McGree (Newcastle Jets FC) – v. Melbourne City FC
Lionel Messi (Argentina) – v. Nigeria
Benjamin Pavard (France) – v. Argentina
Ricardo Quaresma (Portugal) – v. IR Iran
Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid CF) – v. Juventus FC
Mohamed Salah (Liverpool FC) – v. Everton FC

FIFA Fan Award

Sebastián Carrera (Deportes Puerto Montt, Chile)
Peru fans
Japan and Senegal fans

About Toluwalope Daniel

Toluwalope Daniel an Associate in lekkies Media lnc. A Blogger, Music Lover, a disc jockey and a fashion lover.

Check Also

Music: Vector – This Vector Sef

Vector serves new record titled “This Vector Sef” to whet appetites before the Teslimproject. “Let me talk …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *