Thursday , January 17 2019
Home / News / Breaking News / 2018 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup: Japan Wins First Ever U-20 Women World Cup

2018 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup: Japan Wins First Ever U-20 Women World Cup

The 2018 FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup was the ninth edition of the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup, the biennial international women’s youth football championship contested by the under-20 national teams of the member associations of FIFA, since its inception in 2002 as the FIFA U-19 Women’s World Championship (age limit was raised from 19 to 20 in 2006).

The tournament was held in Brittany, France between 5 and 24 August 2018,who would also host the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup. Haiti and the Netherlands made their U-20 Women’s World Cup debuts. North Korea were the defending champions but were eliminated by host France in the quarter-finals. The final took place at Stade de la Rabine, Vannes between Spain and Japan, being a rematch from the group stage, when Spain scored one goal against Japan.

A very relentless Japanese side overpowered Spain to lift their first ever Under 20 Women’s World Cup, beating Spain 3-1 in France on Friday.
The finals was obviously entertaining for the fans at the Stade de la Rabine, Vannes, as the Europeans held possession early in the first half but their persistent opponent took the lead.
Hinata Miyazawa took the Asians off to a historic start in the 38 minute, displacing defenders and creating a beautiful finish.
Fans were hopeful that the Spanish side would return with a spark in the second half but the Japanese rather held onto a great play. Saori Takarada advanced in the 57th minute to deliver her fifth goal in six matches via a long shot that left goalkeeper Catalina Coll helpless. Japan play maker Fuka Nagano, who won the golden ball award at the FIFA Under 17 Women’s World Cup in Jordan, scored the third goal eight minutes later. FC Barcelona forward Candela Andujar’s 71st minute consolation goal was not enough to salvage the situation for the Spaniards as the Asians even created more goal chances up to the final blast of whistle.
Meanwhile, England defeated France via penalties after a 1-1 at regulation time to clinch the bronze medal. At the medal ceremony, the Golden gloves was presented to Sandy Maciver of England while Spain’s Patricia Guijarro won the golden boot with six goals in the tournament. Guijarro also won the golden ball award of the tournament, and the fair play award went to Japan.
Japan has now won all titles in the FIFA Women’s event.

About Toluwalope Daniel

Toluwalope Daniel an Associate in lekkies Media lnc. A Blogger, Music Lover, a disc jockey and a fashion lover.

Check Also

Check Out Marvel’s “The Punisher” Season 2 Trailer

“The Punisher” returns on January 18. Last night, a teaser clip was released for the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *